/* /*]]>*/
Skip to content Accessibility info

Choosing the Right Auto Insurance ​Coverage

Make Sure You Have Enough Liability Protection Before Hitting the Road

The state of Arizona requires everyone who registers and operates a motor vehicle on our roadways to have at least the minimum mandated liability insurance (see below). However, we often find this coverage is insufficient, and we recommend our clients increase their liability protection accordingly. Minimum liability coverage offers some protection, and it protects your fellow motorists, but in many cases, it can leave you vulnerable to financial risk.

What is the minimum liability insurance required in Arizona?

At the very least, you need to carry the following liability coverage when you drive in Arizona:

  • $25,000 per person bodily injury coverage
  • $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage
  • $15,000 per accident property damage coverage

These amounts represent the minimum your insurance company will pay out in a claim if you are found to be at fault in an accident. You must be able to show proof of this insurance coverage if stopped by law enforcement, when registering your vehicle with the state, if you get into an accident, and when financing a vehicle. Most dealerships will not let you drive away in a new car without showing you have this insurance.

Why should you increase your auto liability protection?

The problem with minimum liability coverage is that it can be used up very quickly in an accident if there are serious injuries and property damage. The cost of an ambulance, emergency room treatment, and medical care far exceed these amounts, especially if there is long-term care, disability, lost wages, emotional trauma, or loss of life involved.

Likewise, $15,000 doesn’t go very far toward replacing a newer model car, even if it’s a compact car or sedan. Pickup trucks, SUVs, vans, and luxury cars cost far more to replace if totaled in an accident.

What happens when the costs associated with an accident outstrip your liability coverage? You can be held responsible for making up the difference. A victim can take you to court for damages, and your personal assets can be used to pay for them. This includes:

  • Wages and salary
  • Savings accounts
  • Home equity or property owned outright
  • Retirement funds and pensions (depending on the judge’s ruling)
  • Business assets (in some cases)
  • Other valuable assets (cars and personal property of value)

As you can imagine, this can be financially devastating. That’s why we typically recommend upping your liability coverage to be commensurate with your net worth. We want to protect your assets, so an accident, including one with an underage driver in your household, doesn’t wipe out everything you’ve worked hard for and saved over the years.

Let Us Help You Decide How Much Liability Coverage You Need

It might seem like a good idea to save money on your auto insurance by only purchasing the minimum liability coverage, but we urge you to think twice about this.

We welcome the opportunity to help you select an amount of auto liability protection that better reflects your financial status. Call Stover Strong Insurance Brokers at 480-336-9648, or get in touch online to discuss your policy limits. You’ll be glad you increased your coverage if an accident occurs.